How I Handle Call When I Don’t Recognize The Caller ID

When Do Not Call Fails

I am registered with the Florida Do Not Call program and National Do Not Call program.

First it depends on the time of day:

  • Do not disturb hours – When the wife is asleep.
  • The rest of the day

During the Do Not Disturb Hours I usually pick up, but don’t say anything.  If it is a real person, or some robocalls, there will be a response on the other end.

  1. Robocalls that respond – I usually just hang up, sometimes I will just set the phone down and let it go until I here the dead line signal, tying up their system as long as possible.
  2. Collection calls that ask for someone – I usually use their voice tree to indicate no one by that name here, please remove the number, if available.
  3. Calls that don’t respond, I set the phone down and let it go until their end hangs up.  I might as well tie up their system as long as possible.
  4. Calls that I recognize as repeats – I run my finger over the dial pad sending them the DTFM tones.

The rest of the time I just let it go to voice mail.  Something my generation X children can’t do, they are driven answer the phone.

PS:  A friend (Patricia K) just turned me on to NoMoRobo,  my VOIP line was eligible for free service so I signed up, hope it works.

Leave a Reply

